Barefoot Contessa’s PR nightmare

April 2, 2011 at 6:49 pm (Comm 2322 PR Connections, Comm 4333 PR connections)

One of my favorite food network stars is Ina Garten from the cooking show “Barefoot Contessa”.  After reading a recent article on Gerten’s choice to not once, but twice shoot down a little boy’s dream of meeting his favorite food network star, I am not quite as fond of her as I was before.

The little boy gave up his one wish from the Make A Wish Foundation was to meet with the Barefoot Contessa. He has Leukemia and his parents requested several times to meet, and although she has since reconsidered and offered to meet with the little boy, this does not take back the awful mistake she made earlier this week. It seems as if she has only reconsidered only to spare her reputation, and not out of genuine interest in participating with the Make A Wish Foundation.

One aspect I was curious to know about, was how the Food Network is handling this crisis. Will they reconsider the Barefoot Contessa as apart of their prime time lineup?

Her staff is going to suffer tremendously for this act of selfishness. Many fans are upset about her decision to blow this poor kid off. I know I am.

Instead, the boy is reportedly choosing to swim with the dolphins instead of meet with the Barefoot Contessa, and her show is still his favorite.

To find the whole story check out this article.

2 Comments

  1. blorezca said,

    I believe this is one of those cases where even if you don’t want to do something, you do it anyway. If I were her, I would have done it because I genuinely wanted to but she should have at least done it to give the boy his one wish. It’s sad to think people can be so selfish. I don’t watch Barefoot Contessa but if I did, I probably wouldn’t watch it anymore.

  2. Commenting… « Here's what I have to say. said,

    […] Barfoot Contessa’s PR Nightmare by Angela Myers. (April 5, […]

Leave a Reply

