Artificial dyes in foods

April 2, 2011 at 6:24 pm (Comm 2322 PR Connections, Comm 4333 PR connections)

A recent article has possibly uncovered the link between many of the artificial food dyes found in Fruit Loops, Twinkies, and Jell-O with hyperactivity in children who are already susceptible to an existing hyperactivity condition.  I would hate to be the PR professional for any of the companies that distribute these products.

Although the artificial food dyes may not cause children to be hyperactive, there needs to be more research with these chemicals because nobody is certain at this point the effects it has on them. There seems to be a lot of skepticism about the link between hyperactivity in children from 3-9 and specific artificial dyes that are combined in certian foods.

Parents who are concerned about having hyperactive kids should switch to foods that do not contain these dyes to attempt to see if in fact they are effected by the chemicals found in the dyes.

I always thought that kids were naturally hyper-now we are finding that they are really only hyper because of some dye in their favorite cereals and snacks?

It seems a little far fetched to me. All I know is junk food would be far less exciting if they removed all of the colorful dyes.

For more information on how hyperactivity in children may be linked to artificial food dyes in foods check out this article.

1 Comment

  1. sarahrosehassani said,

    Thanks for posting this blog. I find it very interesting and I think it’s something that all parents should read and look into. When I was in elementary and middle school, I was very hyperactive. I could never pay attention in school and the doctors diagnosed me with ADD and ADHD. I was put on ritalin but looking back it probably had a lot to do with my diet. I was taking in too much sugar, as well as foods with artificial coloring. Parents shouldn’t immediately put their kids on medication if they are hyperactive. They should first take time to research about the ingredients put into foods their children are consuming.

Leave a Reply

