Guest Blogger- Tiffany Hobby

March 15, 2011 at 11:44 am (Comm 2322 Topics of the Week)

Valentines Day Recap

Valentines Day: A day created out of love, but hated by most.

For once in my life I was looking forward this year to Valentines Day (probably because I actually had someone to celebrate it with); I had it all planned out, blueberry heart-shaped pancakes, then the fair for the classic ferris wheel ride with your soul mate and all the junk food you can manage to eat. Monday, February 14th was going to be perfect! Except for the fact that we are both workaholics and didn’t bother taking the day off, so we ended up having to work.

Kyle, my boyfriend, is a pastry chef at Bern’s, and while he specializes in making sweet treat I would rather read blogs about yummy things that I have absolutely no idea how to make. Since I admire all the blogs on WordPress about food, I came across an article that I fell in love with, get a ring on it.

In a nutshell; she had been dating her boyfriend for a very very long time and he still had not proposed yet. An older couple told the woman to take her man to Europe, and he was sure to propose, but that already been the previous year, and he had still not popped the question. So she decided that this year she was going to make a coffee cake for her boyfriend, and he proposed that night, proving that ”the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.”

So I figured… why not try it.

I made the desert after work, since I am disabled in the cooking part of my life my best friend came over to help. I had the cake set for the minute till he was supposed to get off work, but to my surprise the cake took longer than expected and Kyle got off early, so he had to help me with checking to see if it was done.

We stayed up almost all night eating cake and talking about our future. Although I didn’t get a ring, I am happy to say that my engagement was, and will never be, on Valentines day.

 

The Pear and Apple Coffee Cake Recipe:

Servings: 12

Cook Time – 1 hour and 30 minutes, including prep. time. (Maybe even less if you’re a Master Peeler)

Ingredients (Where would I be without commentary?)

For the Cake:

1 Stick and 1 Tablespoon of Unsalted Butter – room temperature

1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar – the original recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup but it really isn’t needed

2 Large Eggs – room temperature

2 Cups All Purpose Flour – Sifted

2 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

1 Teaspoon of Salt

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1 Cup Sour Cream – I used low fat, and let it sit out for about 30 minutes, so that it could come close to room temperature. Please don’t forget about your sour cream, you should not leave it out for more than 1 hour. I also used a dry measuring cup to measure the sour cream (as opposed to a liquid measuring cup).

2 Teaspoons of Pure Vanilla Extract

2 Medium peeled, cored, and chopped pears – I used D’Anjou

1 Medium Apple – I usually use granny smith but thought I’d try it with a honeycrisp apple, which I already had in stock.

For the Crumble Topping:

1/2 Cup Packed Light Brown Sugar – I am still having a love affair with dates so, I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and substituted the rest with about a cup of chopped (and seeded) dates.

1/2 Cup of All Purpose Flour – if you are substituting some of the sugar with dates like I did you may want to add an addition 1-2 tablespoons of flour.

1 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

4 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter – Room Temperature (Soft)

3 Comments

  1. Emily Bos said,

    I really liked this cute little story and the recipe that went along with it. I would be happy too if I WASN’T proposed to on Valentines day–I feel like that’s a little too cliche, and it’s already a holiday in itself. Thank you for including the pear and apple coffee cake recipe; my family and I have always been big bakers and I’m sure we’ll try it out soon!

  2. jlardrey said,

    i just loved this story 🙂 It was so sweet and being asked to marry someone on a holiday isn’t so bad lol but I like how you included the coffee recipe. My sisters love coffee and love to make new creations in the kitchen this will be a treat for them to make. Thanks again for the great blog 🙂

  3. Talking about People’s Blogs/Blog Comments « Jessica Leigh said,

    […] Guest Blogger- Tiffany Hobby March 24, […]

Leave a Reply

