How I use social media

January 25, 2011 at 1:21 pm (Comm 4333 Topics of the week)

The types of social media that I am currently using is quite limited due to the lack of spare time. I do enjoy communicating with my friends and family through Skype and Facebook. I started doing this several years ago. I love having this in my life because I live so far away from many friends. Facebook can become addicting so I try to limit the amount of time I spend on this type of social media.  I have also used WordPress in the past year for a class that I took last semester.

 I find that adding more types of social media clutter my life, and I cannot keep up with how quickly information is thrown at me. I am interested in twitter because I am constantly hearing about it on the radio and the news on television, however I have a hard time taking “tweeting” seriously. Whoever created this concept was genius but whoever created the name and the lingo must have had fun making a silly word to describe sharing information. I do plan on adding twitter slowly into my daily routine because I do want to stay connected to information on PR.

 I am surprised at how many hours a day that people spend on media outlets from the news in the morning, to the radio on the way to work. Then the internet all day at work. Then the same thing on the way home from work and then at home. We are constantly connected to the world by using our smart phones, and experiencing information overload all day long. Younger generations have claimed to have mastered the art of multitasking, but conflicting research is proving this to be impossible because our brains can only handle one task at a time.  Although all of these resources were meant to make our lives more interesting and simple, many have found that always being connected to the world makes them more anxious and stressed out.

1 Comment

  1. kelseyleu said,

    I agree with how social networking can clutter our life! It is crazy to think how much we time in a cyber-world which is not even reality! I am sure we would have more intimate friends if we got off facebook more often and sat down with a person actually, in person.

Leave a Reply

