The faster you drive…the quicker you get there

April 9, 2011 at 8:14 pm (Comm 2322 PR Connections, Comm 4333 PR connections)

This video is a report on how Texas is increasing their speed limit to 85 miles per hour. Check out this video

I wanted to point out the fact at the end of the video. Assume that each 5 mph you drive over 60 mph is like paying an additional $0.24 per gallon of gas. I don’t know about you, but in this economy I know that gas really adds up especially on long distance drives on a highway. Now imagine going 85 mph ¬†instead of the posted 70 mph that Florida regulates.

This also frightens me because I know that I drive alert and in control, but I do not trust other drivers to be like me. Safety is my number one concern on the road, (maybe because I drive a semi fuel-efficient compact car) and I have nightmares about being squashed by some big oil rigger or monster truck failing to break behind me.

If I lived in Texas, I would be thinking about hightailing it out of there with the rising insurance costs and the pressure to actually go 85 mph. Everyone knows that those few who go well under the speed limit cause danger to those who are flying by you. Ultimately, the cost of driving a vehicle is skyrocketing in this state, and its the scary truth of pretending as if we are all race car drivers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

