PR/Marketing Podcasts

April 2, 2011 at 3:12 pm (Comm 4333 Topics of the week)

For this week I decided to first begin listening to the For Immediate Release podcast. After about eight minutes of that I was so bored that I moved on to another podcast that appealed to me because it was made by students. PRStudCast was much more lively like a conversation going back and forth between the student interviewee and two PR and Marketing professionals. I feel that I learned way more from listening to this podcast than I did with the first.

I choose to listen to the new year’s podcast because it was the longest, and the most broad of a topic to discuss for this assignment. The professionals happened to discuss their new year’s resolutions. One had expressed that they wanted to find more time to increase learning activities instead of having uncreative experiences with peers through social media sites such as Twitter and Facebook. She also expressed that she needed to find a limit to where she knew it was time to step away from social media because it is easy to get burnt out of these networking sites.

Both professionals agreed that it was their ultimate goal to make sure the different industries understand the importance of PR. For this reason, it is incredibly important to improve existing relationships and new relationships in an effort to reach out these companies.

After listening to these podcasts, I have really gained a new understanding of the importance of a constant stream of communication from both parties. Most of the PR podcasts have to do with brainstorming on how to have better communication with clients and each other in the workplace.

I would like to stumble upon a PR/Marketing podcast concerning how PR professionals ended up in the field they are in and what exactly is the every day life like. I would like a wide variety of jobs and an explanation of how it is perfect for them. I feel uneducated in the different field options that a communications major has. This would be very beneficial to me.

4 Comments

  1. Shel Holtz said,

    Sorry you found FIR boring. We’ll see what we can do to liven it up after our next listener survey. We ask our listeners every two years about the show and have always made considerable changes based on that feedback. Of course, we’re not trying to appeal to students, but working practitioners.

    There used to be a great student podcast called Forward (if my memory serves). Paull Young was one of those involved with it. Problem was, everybody graduated and went to work, and the podcast was abandoned. What I’d like to see is a student-produced podcast that is handed over to a new generation of students every couple years, much as Inside PR (www.insidepr.ca) wasn’t simply abandoned when the co-hosts grew weary of producing it; they found replacements to take it over.

    So here’s my challenge to you: Find a couple other PR students (from anywhere — you can find thousands of them at PR Open Mic), start a podcast (listen to some old episodes of Forward for inspiration) and get a succession plan in place. The beauty of podcasting is that you don’t need to wait for someone else to produce something useful to you. You can do it yourself. And if you let me know where your podcast can be found, Neville and I will promote the hell out of it on FIR.

    • donna papacosta said,

      I’m not surprised to see such a gracious comment from Shel Holtz, and I hope the students take him up on his suggestion regarding the student PR podcast.

      As for FIR being boring — well, I suppose it depends on your point of view. As a longtime communications practitioner, I find FIR to be an interesting MUST-LISTEN podcast. I learn something every week from co-hosts Shel Holtz and Neville Hobson, plus Dan York and the other contributors.

  2. NathanCasper said,

    Welcome to the world of Blogger relations. Consider this your trial by fire.

    You’ve got about a hundred anxious Twitterites waiting to see Shel Holtz’ comments on your blog… and you’re slow with the moderation. Blogger-types and Twitterers are not tremendously patient individuals. Next time you call a social media titan boring, you might want to be prepared for the backlash and ready to keep up with the wave of public interest.

    You’re in 4333, so you’ll probably be in the industry soon. Take it from me, a recent PR grad, this blogger-relations lesson could be the most important thing you learn during your time in school.

    Good luck!

  3. ang4546 said,

    Wow, I didn’t expect all this. This assignment was required and I’m sorry that I didn’t catch the meat of the information in the podcast. Obviously I am not seasoned in this industry, and maybe I should start with baby steps when it comes to listening to PR professional podcasts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

